Maureen Michael Scholarship

Maureen Michael Honorary ScholarshipMM_Award_to_MM.png

The Maureen Michael Honorary Scholarship was established in 2010 and is awarded annually to an outstanding Renal Healthcare Association committee member.  The scholarship provides financial support for a member to attend the Renal Healthcare Association Annual Conference.  The scholarship is designed for members who are involved in Renal Healthcare Association committees and programs.

The scholarship was established in 2010 when Maureen Michael, a founding member and Past President of Renal Healthcare Association, retired from Central Florida Kidney Centers.

Throughout Maureen's career, she demonstrated tremendous dedication to caring for dialysis patients, as well as working diligently for the resources and regulations to support small and independent dialysis providers. In addition to the excellent work that she did in her job as an RN and later on as an administrator, Maureen volunteered tirelessly for the Renal Healthcare Association, serving in leadership positions and on many committees, developing and spearheading programs that ultimately benefitted all dialysis providers and their patients.

The Renal Healthcare Association Board developed this scholarship as a way to honor Maureen's work, and also to provide an opportunity for other members to give back as she did, by becoming more involved in the association.

Candidates for the scholarship are nominated by the Renal Healthcare Association Committee Chairs and selected by the Governance Committee in recognition of:

  • Active Involvement in Renal Healthcare Association committees and programs
  • Marked desire to learn more about the industry, and to discover how they can affect change for the dialysis industry

The Maureen Michael Scholarship is intended to help groom future leaders for Renal Healthcare Association, by providing an opportunity to become more familiar with the association, the members, and the programs that Renal Healthcare Association provides.


Scholarship Recipients

2019 - Nancy Bryant, Fort Smith Regional Dialysis Center 
2018 - Becky Berg, Sanford Health System 2014 - Susan Senich, North Central PA Dialysis Clinics
2017 - Debra Buffington, Rice Memorial Hospital
2013 - Denise Simon, Toiyable Dialysis Center
2016 - Lyn Lyman, Health Systems Management, Inc. 2012 - Janine Diebel, Munson Dialysis
2015 - Kim Deaver, Univ. of Virginia Dialysis Program 2011 - Laura Beyer, Pella Regional Health Center

Scholarship Presentations

2017 Scholarship recipient, Debra Buffington


2016 Scholarship recipient, Lyn Lyman 2015 Scholarship recipient, Kim Deaver


2014 Scholarship recipient, Susan Senich 2013 Scholarship recipient, Denise Simon


2012 Scholarship recipient, Janine Diebel 2011 Scholarship recipient, Laura Beyer