Zawiski Award for Leadership

Mark Zawiski Award for Outstanding Leadership

The NRAA Mark Zawiski Award for Outstanding Leadership recognizes excellence in the dialysis industry and is presented annually to an individual who has exemplified great leadership to the kidney and dialysis industry. The candidates of this award serve as examples to their colleagues and are known for their efforts made to the business aspects of End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD), Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) and dialysis.  


This award is named after Mark Zawiski, a dialysis facility administrator renowned for his tireless work on behalf of dialysis patients and the associations that support independent dialysis providers.  Mark started his career in the renal industry while attending night school and later served as a patient care technician. He worked his way through college and graduate school as a dialysis technician, and went on to earn his MBA.  He worked his way up in the renal industry to the level of facility administrator for several dialysis facilities in the Miami area and became the administrator for two facilities in the Miami area.  

Mark excelled in volunteering many hours as President of the Florida Renal Administrators Association (FRAA) and it wasn't long before he started participating in the NRAA. He served as President of the FRAA and as a Director and then Treasurer for the NRAA.  He was a frequent presenter at FRAA and NRAA educational events, graciously sharing his experience and skills to help facilities improve their operations while remaining committed to patient care.  He established a working relationship with the Florida Intermediary which allowed the FRAA to become a resource to the Intermediary. He was also instrumental, along with Jeff Lehman, in working with HCFA (CMS predecessor) in establishing and updating the Medicare Cost Report on behalf of the NRAA.  

Mark tragically and suddenly passed away at an early age, leaving behind a wife and two young children, and a legacy of service and dedication to the ESRD and dialysis community.  He was a friend and supporter of many in the industry. His support locally and nationally is the underlying reason for this award. 


Nominate Someone Outstanding

If you know someone who has made major contributions to the kidney community and exemplifies the leadership and spirit of Mark Zawiski, please consider nominating them for the 2020 Mark Zawiski Award for Outstanding Leadership. These individuals go above and beyond the call of duty, face challenges head-on, and put the interests of patients and their community above their own.  Nominations are open until September 18, 2020.


Award Presentations

2019 winner Joyce Jackson receiving
award from 2017 winner Deb Cote
2018 winner Lee Spodnik receiving
award from 2017 winner Deb Cote
Deb_Cote_and_Judith_Kari_-_Zawiski_2017_web.jpg 20170524_102644.jpg
2017 winner Deb Cote receiving
award from 2016 winner Judith Kari
2016 winner Judith Kari receiving
award from 2015 winner Sue Rottura


2015 winner Sue Rottura presented
award by 2014 winner Doug Johnson
2014 winner Doug Johnson presented
award by 2013 winner Jeff Lehman


NRAA President Diane Wish presents award 
to the 2011 winner Barry Straube 
2009 winner Katrina Russell presented 
award by NRAA President Keith Mentz


2012 winner Larry Emerson presented
award by NRAA President Sue Rottura
NRAA President Larry Emerson presents award 
to 2010 winner Stan Langhofer


2008 Winner Mike Cooper received award from
NRAA Past Presidents Tony Messana and Maureen Michael
2012 Award Winner Larry Emerson and
2013 winner Jeff Lehman