Maureen Michael Scholarship

Maureen Michael Honorary ScholarshipMM_Award_to_MM.png

The Maureen Michael Honorary Scholarship was established in 2010 and is awarded annually to an outstanding NRAA committee member.  The scholarship provides financial support for a member to attend the NRAA Annual Conference.  The scholarship is designed for members who are involved in NRAA committees and programs.

The scholarship was established in 2010 when Maureen Michael, a founding member and Past President of NRAA, retired from Central Florida Kidney Centers.

Throughout Maureen's career she demonstrated tremendous dedication to caring for dialysis patients, as well as working diligently for the resources and regulations to support small and independent dialysis providers. In addition to the excellent work that she did in her job as an RN and later on as an administrator, Maureen volunteered tirelessly for the NRAA, serving in leadership positions and on many committees, developing and spearheading programs that ultimately benefitted all dialysis providers and their patients.

The NRAA Board developed this scholarship as a way to honor Maureen's work for NRAA, and also to provide an opportunity for other NRAA members to give back as she did, by becoming more involved in the association.

Candidates for the scholarship are nominated by the NRAA Committee Chairs and selected by the NRAA Governance Committee in recognition of:

  • Active Involvement in NRAA committees and programs
  • Marked desire to learn more about the industry and NRAA, and to discover about how they can affect change for the dialysis industry

The Maureen Michael Scholarship is intended to help groom future leaders for NRAA, by providing an opportunity to become more familiar with the association, the members and the programs that NRAA provides.


Scholarship Recipients

2019 - Nancy Bryant, Fort Smith Regional Dialysis Center 
2018 - Becky Berg, Sanford Health System 2014 - Susan Senich, North Central PA Dialysis Clinics
2017 - Debra Buffington, Rice Memorial Hospital
2013 - Denise Simon, Toiyable Dialysis Center
2016 - Lyn Lyman, Health Systems Management, Inc. 2012 - Janine Diebel, Munson Dialysis
2015 - Kim Deaver, Univ. of Virginia Dialysis Program 2011 - Laura Beyer, Pella Regional Health Center

Scholarship Presentations

2017 Scholarship recipient, Debra Buffington


2016 Scholarship recipient, Lyn Lyman 2015 Scholarship recipient, Kim Deaver


2014 Scholarship recipient, Susan Senich 2013 Scholarship recipient, Denise Simon


2012 Scholarship recipient, Janine Diebel 2011 Scholarship recipient, Laura Beyer